Young or New Investigator Awards

Overview of Awards:  Two tiers of Young or New Investigator Awards will be offered to qualifying individuals at World Sleep 2019. The first-tier award will provide the opportunity for up to 18 individuals to present their abstract during a special Young or New Investigator oral abstract session. The second-tier awards will be presented to authors of the top ranked Young or New Investigator poster abstracts.

Requirement: 35 years old or younger OR less than 5 years post MD or PhD degree

First tier award: Complementary registration and a travel grant of up to $1,000 USD (depending on distance of travel) to give a 10-minute oral presentation included in a special oral abstract session during the congress.

Second tier award: Monetary award of $400 USD per winning poster

Deadline: June 15, 2019

Download Award Application

Application Process

STEP ONE – Submit your abstract online, indicating oral presentation or poster only.

STEP TWO – Email Angie Granum at World Sleep Society with the following information:

  1. Name
  2. Age
  3. Date of MD or PhD completion
  4. Title of abstract
  5. Abstract number
  6. Name and contact details of mentor or advisor who can verify you meet the requirements
  7. Biosketch
  8. A short letter (max 200 words) explaining why you are applying for this award
  9. Indicated presentation preference of oral presentation or poster only. (All abstracts not selected for oral presentation will automatically be entered for poster presentations.)

Review Process

The young or new investigator awards will be selected from submitted abstracts. Abstracts submitted by award applicants will be evaluated in two phases:

Phase 1 (General abstract review):  Award applicants will be notified of their acceptance for an oral or poster presentation. Acceptance of an oral or poster abstract does not imply the author will be selected to receive a young or new investigator award.

Phase 2 (Young or New Investigator abstract review): Following the June 15, 2019 deadline, the applications will be reviewed, and award recipients will be notified by June 30, 2019.


View other awards.